Book Review: The Love Square by Laura Jane Williams

by | Book Recommendations, Book Review

I absolutely LOVED this book. It brought out all the feels. Through the book we follow Penny as she navigates life and love. More to the point, how come Penny finds three HOT love interests and I’m here stuck in lockdown?!

The most stand out part of this book to me was the diversity of the characters which, as they should be, seemed nothing other than normal. There was LGBTQ+ and non-binary representation which, while it shouldn’t be the case, is often made into a big deal in books or they are given some stereotypical storyline, if these relationships exist within them at all. I have recently been actively trying to seek out books that normalise these relationships, and Laura captures this perfectly.

There were lots of other really fantastic themes in this book, and Penny’s muddle through love is very entertaining, and endearing. She is the kind of character you’d hope to be friends with, who is a giggle, who knows who she is and goes on this fantastic journey of self discovery to realise what she really wants in love.

I really did enjoy this book, and it is a perfect read for a bit of an escape into romance (and it made me miss going out to eat, sooo much! First thing I’m doing after lockdown is heading to Stoke Newington where Penny’s cafe is based on a real cafe with, apparently, the best almond croissants).

I look forward to reading more from Williams.

You can pre-order The Love Square here

‘Fresh, funny and smart’ Beth O’Leary, bestselling author of The Flatshare

‘A thoroughly modern love story. Smart and emotional – I couldn’t put it down’ Sarah Morgan, bestselling author of Family for Beginners

She’s single. But it can still be complicated…

Penny Bridge has always been unlucky in love.

So she can’t believe it when she meets a remarkable new man.

Followed by another.

And then another

And all of them want to date her.

Penny has to choose between three. But are any of them The One?

The bestselling author of Our Stop will have you laughing, crying and cheering Penny on in this funny and feel-good exploration of hope, romance and the trust it takes to finally fall in love. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane’s If I Never Met You and Beth O’Leary’s The Flatshare.

Pin It on Pinterest